My Watermarble Nail Art (Plus Guide)

I’m like a lot of you ladies out there and can’t watermarble to save my life, meaning if I had to bust out the perfect watermarble in order to live another day, I’d have to kiss my — you get what I’m saying, here, right?

If you don’t know what watermarble is, allow me to briefly explain: to create a watermarble design, first pick anywhere between 2 and however many shades you think you can work with (the lower the number the easier it is). Unscrew all the caps for quicker access. Next, take a shallow cup and fill it with room temperature water. Tap water works fine, but since it doesn’t come in room temp straight from the tap, fill your cup and allow it to sit for 30 minutes to an hour. Fill several cups in case you mess up (if it’s your first time, you probably will).

Start with your first color; remove the brush from the bottle and add one drop of polish into the cup (you can carefully touch the surface of the water with the tip of the brush for quicker transfer). Cycle through the colors you chose, adding one drop of the next color inside the circle of the last color you added, until you have the number of rings you want. You have to work quickly here or else the paint will dry and you won’t be able to create the designs that make it a watermarble.

Once you have the number of rings you want, take a watermarbling tool (a small dotting tool or orange stick works fine) and drag inwards from the outer-most ring to the center (unless the paint in the outer-most ring has dried, but don’t panic — if it has, just pull from the next outer-most ring). Repeat this step four or five times, working your way around the outer-most ring. From there you can add more lines, drive lines from one end to the other from either way, or even make a neat swirl in the center of your design. Don’t take my word for it, though! There are a lot of different tutorials out there for unique watermarble designs. IG user nikki_loves_nail_polish only posts her superawesome watermarble designs. Her timeline is mesmerizing.

These are my watermarble nails:

image
China Glaze Watermarble

These actually turned out pretty decent and I’m happy with them. For the colors I used China Glaze I’d Melt For You and Astro-Hot. I only did two nails because I’m super impatient, which is another quality watermarble-savvy folks have lots of — patience. Impatient folks need not apply.

So be patient, and in the words of our late Aaliyah: “if at first you don’t succeed, dust yourself off and try again, you can dust it off and try again, try again”. Truer words have never been spoken. 😉

Author:

My name is Chelsea and I'm an avid nail polish lover and warrior swatcher! You can also find me on Instagram under @sittingpolishpretty :)

Leave a Reply

